The Center of the Lowland (Ponyzzia) was the name of a region located between the rivers Dniester and the Southern Buh (nowadays this region is known as Podillia). It was first mentioned in the chronicles in 1024. According to the archaeological research data, in the 12th century Bakota town embraced an area of about 10 hectares, and had a population of about 2.5 thousand people. In the 13th century, Bakota was considered the most important political and administrative center of Halych-Volhynian Kingdom.
Since the 14th century Bakota has becomewell known for its cave monastery, which was first mentioned as an "ancient" cave in the Kievan Chronicle in 1362. Saint Antony (the Kiev Pecherska Lavra founder) was also a founder of the Bakota Cave Monastery. In the second half of the 14th century the Lowland fell under the authority of the Lithuanian princes, and shortly afterwards Poland began to claim its rights for this region.
From 1399 to 1434 two countries had been fighting for the region.
In 1431 due to the resolution between Poland and Lithuania, Bakota became a neutral territory. Three years later, the Polish troops invaded the Lowland, reached Bakota and almost destroyed the town. The monastery was left in ruins after the attack. The town of Bakota could never revive back to its glory days, thus allowing Kamianets to become the new center of the region.
Bakota remained in existence as a small village up until 1981, when the waters from the reservoir of the Newly built Dniester Hydroelectric Station flooded it and submerged the entire village under water.
Nowadays, the main attractions of the village of Bakota are the remains of the Cave Monastery, the White Rock inside of which the monastery was founded, and the fascinating Bakota Bay view.